alcohol detection systems, ads interlock, ignition interlock device, ignition interlock, dui device, car breathalyzerAlcohol Detection Systems (ADS) is the leading ignition interlock company in the United States, helping drivers get back on the road after a DUI quickly and efficiently.
Michigan has a number of laws prohibiting intoxicated driving. The two main categories are operating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OWI) and operating while visibly impaired (OWVI) by drugs or alcohol.
An OWI (DUI) in the state of Michigan is classified as:
Being under the influence of an alcoholic liquor or controlled substance
Having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater or
Having any amount of controlled substance (illegal drugs) in the body
The judge will determine the jail time and fines for an intoxicated driving offense within the statutory limitations. These limitations depend on the circumstances of the offense and the number of prior convictions within the last seven years.
MICHIGAN STATE IID LAWS OWI Suspension — The driver is permitted to obtain a restricted license after 30 days. A restricted license limits when and where the person can drive and requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID). The 30-day waiting period (also called a “hard suspension”) is increased to 45 days if the driver had a .17% BAC or greater or 90 days if there was a passenger under 16 years old.
OWVI Suspension — A first-offense OWVI conviction will result in a 90-day suspension. However, because a restricted license is immediately available, an OWVI conviction does not have to result in the complete loss of driving privileges. This suspension increases to 180 days if the OWVI involved a controlled substance.
REINSTATING A SUSPENDED MICHIGAN DRIVER'S LICENSE
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense and whether your license is suspended or revoked. Once you've served your minimum suspension and penalties determined by your court order, you may apply for a restricted license.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License may require: