alcohol detection systems, ads interlock, ignition interlock device, ignition interlock, dui device, car breathalyzerAlcohol Detection Systems (ADS) is the leading ignition interlock company in the United States, helping drivers get back on the road after a DUI quickly and efficiently.
In Tennessee, a DUI is defined as driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08%. You may also receive DUI-type penalties for refusing to submit to the blood alcohol test when arrested on suspicion of a DUI.
** Enhanced penalties may be issued for a BAC of .20 or above or a DUI that occurs with a passenger under the age of 18 in the car **
TENNESSEE IGNITION INTERLOCK LAWS
Tennessee laws require the installation of ignition interlock devices for all DUI offenders. After serving a period of license revocation or suspension, you may be allowed to apply for a restricted license, which allows you to drive provided an interlock is installed in your vehicle. Installed at the driver's expense, IIDs require a sober person to breath into them to start the car. With two DUI convictions in a five-year period, the IID is required for six months after getting your license back. The IID must be installed by an approved Service Provider who will then coordinate with the appropriate Tennessee jurisdiction to schedule inspections of your device, and to download its data.
REINSTATING A SUSPENDED TENNESSEE LICENSE
"Motorists facing a driver’s license suspension in Tennessee will receive a notification letter from the Department of Safety (DOS) and will be given the opportunity for a hearing before any further action is taken. Drivers may be required to satisfy specific conditions pertaining to their penalty to finalize the reinstatement process."
These penalties may include:
Serving a 2-5 day jail period
A 1- to 10-year license suspension or revocation depending on your driving history
Fines ranging from $500 - $1500 for your first offense, $1,500-$3,500 for your second, and $3,500-10,000 for any offenses beyond that
Participation in disciplinary/ educational programs
Under Tennessee law, individuals may be eligible under certain circumstances for a restricted license. If applying for a restricted license, after a DUI conviction, you must not have been convicted of a prior vehicular homicide as the result of intoxication, aggravated vehicular homicide, or vehicular assault. You cannot have been involved in an accident in which a person was killed or suffered bodily injury as the result of the DUI violation.
To obtain a restricted license or to reinstate a driver's license, one must:
Pay a $100 reinstatement fee or a $2 application fee and $65 license fee
Obtain a current SR-22 form from their insurance company proving financial responsibility, typically $50
If revoked, obtain a valid license and pay all necessary fees