Massachusetts State Laws and IID Requirements
MASSACHUSETTS IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE PROGRAM
In 2005, “Melanie’s Law” came into effect which increased the penalties for operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI) of alcohol or controlled substances. It also established the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) program, which requires multiple OUI offenders to install an IID for a prescribed period of time.
REINSTATING A SUSPENDED MASSACHUSETTS LICENSE
|1.||Completing your suspension period determined by your court order|
|2.||Paying all fines, including any additional court costs|
|3.||Serving jail time as determined by your court order|
|4.||Completing an alcohol education program or other required education classes|
|5.||Paying your license reinstatement fee, ranging from $100 to $1,200|
|6.||Sometimes, drivers must also re-apply for their license (includes taking all the required tests, paying applicable fees)|
A hardship license is a restricted license in that it allows you to drive for a set 12 hour period, 7 days a week. Offenders who qualify as a first time OUI/DUI offenders can apply for a Hardship License three days after entry of conviction or plea. Applicants who have multiple OUI/DUI convictions are required to serve a portion of the suspension before applying for a Hardship License. Melanie’s Law requires that an IID be installed and used by both drivers with a conditional “hardship” driver’s license and by those operators whose drivers’ licenses are eligible for reinstatement following completion of the OUI license suspension or revocation periods.
|1.||Apply for a hardship license from the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) if your regular driver's license has been revoked due to a first-time OUI offense|
|1.||Request an OUI hardship license from the RMV if your driver's license has been revoked AND you meet the qualifications for this particular type of license|
Both forms and additional state information can be found at https://www.dmv.org/ma-massachusetts/automotive-law/dui.php.
Looking for Interlock Device Answers? Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
Massachusetts DUI Classification
Massachusetts uses your blood alcohol content (BAC) to determine whether you're legally driving under the influence. Below are the BAC limits and their corresponding ages or qualifiers:
- 0.08% or higher―Drivers 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles
- 0.04% or higher―Drivers operating commercial vehicles
- 0.02% or higher―Drivers younger than 21 years old
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.