Missouri State Laws and IID Requirements
Missouri DUI Classification
Missouri uses the term “driving under the influence of intoxicants” (DUII) instead of DUI (driving under the influence). You can be convicted of a DUII in Missouri if you drive with a BAC of .01% or higher.
MISSOURI IGNITION INTERLOCK PROGRAM
DWIs in Missouri are classified by a BAC level of 0.08%. Punishment may increase for those convicted with a higher BAC level, and a conviction may also occur if one fails to pass field sobriety tests conducted by an officer
REINSTATING A SUSPENDED/REVOKED MISSOURI DRIVER'S LICENSE
If you have no prior alcohol-related driving convictions, your driving privilege will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60-day Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP). You may be eligible for an immediate 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege if you install an approved Ignition Interlock Device (IID). To apply for an RDP:
- Complete and submit the Request for Immediate 90-Day Restricted Driving Privilege form within 15 days of the date you receive the Notice of Suspension or Revocation of Your Driving Privilege. The request form is contained on the notice that was mailed to you, or you may use the following form
- Coordinate with your insurance company to provide an SR-22 form to the Department of Revenue (DOR)
- Have an Ignition Interlock Device installed by an approved vendor on any/all vehicles operated by the offender for the duration of the RDP
If your driving record shows one or more prior alcohol convictions, your driving privilege will be revoked for one year and you will not be eligible for an RDP. You may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). To apply for an LDP:
- Submit an LDP application to the DOR
- Coordinate with your insurance company to provide an SR-22 form to the DOR
- Have an Ignition Interlock Device installed by an approved vendor on any/all vehicles operated by the offender for the duration of the LDP
Looking for Interlock Device Answers? Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
For additional state laws and requirements information, please visit: