In Alaska, the terminology for drunk driving offenses is OUI, or operating under the influence. The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in the state of Alaska is .08 percent, and offenders found to be at or above that limit while driving risk conviction.Some offenders who have their license suspended may be eligible to regain driving privileges if they meet certain criteria, including installing an ignition interlock device (IID) from an approved provider.
Alaska has strict OUI laws, and even first offenders will have their license suspended following an OUI incident. Some of these offenders may be able to get their license back or regain driving privileges during the suspension period if they install an ignition interlock device.
Many penalties are incurred after a drunk driving offense, including financial penalties and possible jail time. The penalties in Alaska increase depending on if there are previous offenses or specific circumstances.
The penalties may increase or the suspension term may be lengthened depending on the circumstances of the incident, or if the offender violates the IID policy.
There are still penalties for offenders who refuse to take the BAC test when arrested. Even if the BAC levels are not taken, the offender can still have their license suspended immediately and may even face additional penalties for refusing the test.
Alaska does allow some offenders to regain driving privileges, even during the suspension period. Typically, offenders are required to serve a set portion of the suspension, and then if eligible, they can apply for an interlock license. The interlock license will allow them to drive as long as they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider, along with other criteria. Other criteria they must meet includes:
Additional criteria may need to be fulfilled if determined by the court or the circumstances of the offense.
The monitoring authority for limited license holders in Alaska is the Department of Motor Vehicles. The DMV receives reports of all violations for all required interlock users in the state (voluntary users are not monitored). The IID must be installed by an approved provider like ADS because the monitoring authority works with providers to monitor offenders.
Often ignition interlock devices are also called car breathalyzers because they operate similarly to a breathalyzer used by law enforcement. This is how they work:
The devices are required by law, and the length of time an IID is required depends on past OUI convictions or refusals to take a BAC test. There are minimum interlock sentencing guidelines, but the court has the discretion to lengthen the term if they deem it necessary.
Alaska requires offenders to cover the cost of their own devices. ADS offers flexible payment options and allows offenders to pay online or via the app. Typically the devices cost $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
ADS has 9 locations in Alaska. To view our expanded network with partner locations, search your city, state or zip code for more locations near you.