ADS is an approved ignition interlock device provider in California, where many DUI offenders are required to install an IID to regain driving privileges. California allows the ADS Determinator I and the ADS Determinator II devices.
California considers anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more to be a DUI offender. Offenders have their license confiscated immediately per California’s Administration License Revocation (ALR) rules if:
In California, driving culture is predominant. The number of drivers on the road is high, and intoxicated drivers are a danger to everyone else. The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) in California is .08 percent, and offenders found to be driving at or above that limit are subject to fines, license suspension, and other penalties. Some offenders may be eligible to regain their driving privileges with a restricted license with the installation of an ignition interlock. This requires the offender to install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. This guide will explain how the ignition interlock device (IID) process works in California.
There are administrative and financial penalties for DUI in California. The penalties may increase depending on the specifics of the situation.
California drivers who are convicted of DUI for the first time may have their license suspended for six months and be required to install an ignition interlock device for up to 6 months. If their actions caused injury or death, this time period may be extended. Drivers are also subject to potential jail time, fines, and required to attend alcohol treatment classes.
If the suspended license creates a hardship, drivers can apply for an ignition interlock license, which will allow them to have a restricted license if they install an IID and limit their driving to approved locations. In some cases, the court may order an IID installation even if not required by law, or may extend the time frame the driver must have the device.
DUIs that involve injury may be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the circumstances. Consequences are more severe for felony DUI incidents, and include higher financial penalties, more jail time, and other penalties.
Skipping the breath alcohol content (BrAC) test requirement does not eliminate consequences. Refusing to take a chemical blood alcohol content test will also result in penalties.
Offenders in California are required to pay the cost of their own device, although financial assistance is available to qualified offenders. The devices typically cost $2.50 to $3.50 per day to lease.
Some offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges with a restricted driver’s license with an ignition interlock device. This license requires the offender to install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. They also have to meet the following criteria:
ADS is an approved provider in California, meaning that our devices meet all state criteria and can be used to fulfill a mandated IID requirement.
An interlock device is a small device installed in your vehicle that:
The court and the statute determines how long an IID is required. This will be clarified at sentencing.
ADS devices are simple, easy-to-use, and feature bilingual prompts. The partner network for ADS means there are more installation locations than any other provider, making it easy to find one near you.