Colorado has strict penalties for anyone caught driving under the influence. The legal limit in Colorado is below .08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). The penalties include criminal penalties, like fines and jail time, as well as administrative penalties like license suspensions.The courts decide criminal penalties, and the department of revenue is responsible for the administrative penalties. In some cases, Colorado drivers can apply to regain their driving privileges if they agree to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
Colorado has two types of alcohol-based driving offenses, DUI and DWAI. A DUI stands for driving under the influence. DWAI stands for driving while ability impaired. Typically, the deciding factor in what a driver is charged with depends on their blood alcohol content. Drivers who test at .08 percent or above are generally charged with DUI. Drivers who test below .08 percent but above .05 percent BAC may be charged with DWAI.
The penalties for DWAI are similar to those for DUI. Penalties for a first-time DWAI offender include:
Colorado also adds points to driver’s license records for offenses. A first offense DUI is four points, and a third would be eight to 12 points depending on the level of offense. Offenders may be required to install an ignition interlock device to regain their driving privileges.
The cost of an ignition interlock device is the responsibility of the offender. Typically, the devices are leased and not purchased outright. This is because they cost thousands of dollars, which would be far more than most drivers could afford. For those who cannot afford the cost of leasing a device, Colorado has a Financial Assistance Program. To qualify, customers must be 21 years old or older, a first-time offender, legal US resident who lives in Colorado, with income that falls within Colorado poverty lines.
It may vary but typically the device costs between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Drivers in Colorado can regain partial driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. Restricted licenses typically allow offenders to drive to work, school, home, treatment and other necessary appointments. To regain their driving privileges in Colorado, DUI offenders need to:
The court may provide other tasks to complete before an offender is eligible, specific to their case.
Ignition interlock devices like those ADS provides help Colorado drivers get back on the road. With the IID installed, drivers can regain driving privileges for work, home, school, and more.
An ignition interlock device, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
The amount of time is usually determined by how many offenses the driver has on their record, any aggravating factors, and the court’s discretion.
Colorado approves the ADS Determinator or Determinator II devices. Each device features bilingual prompts and a simple, easy-to-read display.
There are many options to install in Colorado, thanks to ADS’ large partner network. There are more than 4,000 locations nationwide, so you will easily be able to find one near you. Remember, you will have to return to your service center location every 60 days in order to have it calibrated. Keep that in mind when choosing your location.