In Idaho, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08 percent. This means that anyone with a BAC at or above .08 percent is at risk of a DUI conviction. The penalties include financial penalties and administrative penalties that may include license suspension, jail time, or community service. First-time offenders may be eligible to enter a diversion program, where they’d be required to install an ignition interlock device, or IID, for a mandatory period of time.
All first-time offenders are also required to have an IID for a year following their license suspension. With an IID, offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges faster, as the devices prevent drivers from starting their car with alcohol in their system.
Idaho grants qualified offenders a restricted driver’s permit if they install an IID, and meet other criteria. With the restricted permit, offenders are able to drive before their suspension period is officially up.
In Idaho, the penalties for DUI offenses increase depending on past incidents, and the specifics of the incident. They get harsher after the first offense, and if there is property damage or a blood alcohol content that’s .20 or higher.
If an offender refuses to take a BAC test, they risk their license being suspended for at least one year. Refusing to take the test does not mean freedom from penalty.
Offenders are responsible for the cost of the device. There is financial assistance available for anyone the court deems indigent.
The price of the device is typically between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
In Idaho, offenders who install an ignition interlock device and meet other criteria may be eligible for a restricted driver’s permit. This permit allows them to regain driving privileges during a suspension period. To get a restricted driver’s permit, offenders should:
Sometimes the specifics of the incidence mean there are additional requirements, but this is the general criteria that applies to every offender.
A hardship license requires an ignition interlock device, which must be installed by an approved provider. IIDs are also mandatory after suspension. ADS and our partner network are approved in Idaho, so you know you will be in compliance with state regulations.
Ignition interlocks are small devices installed inside your vehicle that:
The IID requirement period is dependent on the statute. The court may also take into account the number of offenses on the driver’s record, and if there were aggravating factors to the DUI offense. In general, the devices are required for the suspension period and potentially some time after the suspension period ends.
Idaho approves the ADS Determinator II device. The device has a simple operating system and bilingual prompts.
ADS has a large partner network with more than 4,000 locations nationwide. This makes it easy to find an installation location near you. At your installation appointment, a technician will show you how the device works before you leave.