Illinois has strict laws for DUI offenders. Any driver found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) at .08 percent or higher is considered to be driving under the influence. The legal BAC limit in Illinois is .08 percent, and drivers who have a BAC of .16, twice the legal limit, are treated even more strictly.
First-time offenders who are convicted of DUI in Illinois will have their driving privileges revoked for at least one year, and two years if they are under the legal drinking age of 21. Their vehicle’s registration will also be suspended. First-time offenders in Illinois are required to install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) that includes a camera. BAIIDs are also often referred to as ignition interlock devices (IID) or car breathalyzers. They prevent drivers from starting their car with alcohol in their system.
Illinois drivers must install a BAIID from an approved provider if they wish to regain their driving privileges. Some offenders are able to get restricted driving privileges with a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP).
Illinois DUI offenders are occasionally able to regain their driving privileges by applying for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP), which allows them to drive if they install an ignition interlock device approved by the state.
Illinois has a variety of penalties for DUI offenders. They include administrative penalties as well as financial penalties, and in some cases jail time is also required.
Refusing to take the test in Illinois will not eliminate consequences. Adults who refuse a BAC test or breathalyzer can have their license suspended for up to 12 months. Anyone caught for a second time who refuses the test for the second time within a five-year period risks a three-year license revocation.
In Illinois, drivers who have their license revoked following a DUI conviction do have an option to regain their driving privileges during the suspension or revocation period. They can apply for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). The MDDP allows them to get a restricted driver’s permit and get back on the road. To qualify, offenders must:
ADS is an approved provider in Illinois, and Illinois accepts the Determinator II devices, as it includes a camera.
An ignition interlock device is a small device wired into your car’s ignition. The device:
The length of time is determined by statute. If additional time is added, the court or administrative body will clarify.
Illinois requires offenders to pay for their own device, which typically costs between $2.50 and $3.50 per day to lease. There is financial assistance available for qualified offenders. The Secretary of State’s office determines who is eligible.
ADS belongs to a robust partner network with more than 5,000 locations. This is helpful because it allows drivers to find a convenient location for their installation appointment and regular calibration. The Determinator II features the necessary camera, a simple display, and bilingual prompts.