alcohol detection systems, ads interlock, ignition interlock device, ignition interlock, dui device, car breathalyzerAlcohol Detection Systems (ADS) is the leading ignition interlock company in the United States, helping drivers get back on the road after a DUI quickly and efficiently.
In Kansas, DUI offenders are penalized in a variety of ways. Offenders will be required to pay financial penalties, and first offenders will have their driving privileges suspended for 30 days, and restricted for an additional 180 days.
State Interlock Regulations
Once the suspension period is up, drivers must apply for a restricted license after installing an ignition interlock device. An IID must be installed in order for the driver to regain their driving privileges, even in this restricted manner.
Alcohol Detection System - Help is here
Let us get you back on the road quickly and without hassie. Just fill in your information and an ADS advisor will contact you.
By clicking the button above, you consent to ADS and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
There are financial and administrative penalties for each offense in Kansas. Repeat offenders receive harsher penalties.
48 hours to 6 months in prison or 100 hours of community service
Fine of $500-$1,000 plus court costs, probation, and evaluation fees
License suspended for 30 days, then restricted for 180 additional days
IID required to restore driving privileges
0 days to one year in prison
1,000 to $1,500 fine plus court costs, probation, and evaluation fees
One year license suspension, followed by one year of restricted license
ID required to restore driving privileges
Offense is upgraded to felony from misdemeanor
90 days to one year in jail
$1,500 to $2,000 fine plus court costs, probation, and evaluation fees
License suspended for one year, followed by one year of restricted license
IID required to restore driving privileges
Further offenses may result in an offender’s driver’s license being permanently revoked.
Ignition Interlock Cost in Kansas
Offenders are responsible for the cost of the device, though there is financial assistance available for some. Kansas customers who receive public assistance or have an annual income below the federal poverty line may be eligible for financial assistance.
How much does an IID cost?
The device costs between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
How do I get a restricted driver’s license in Kansas?
The state of Kansas requires convicted DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device in order to regain driving privileges. Typically, offenders have to complete their assigned suspension period, pay all fines, and complete all court-ordered requirements before they’re eligible for a restricted license.
Kansas residents, here’s your checklist to get a restricted license:
Wait the required portion of the mandated suspension period
Install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider
Show proof of SR-22 insurance
Pay license reinstatement fee
If there are other criteria, the court should clarify what other tasks you need to complete.
ADS KS Interlock Devices
The ignition interlock program allows drivers to regain driving privileges so they can go to work, school, and other necessary locations if they get their license during the suspension period. Following the suspension period, they are allowed to drive with the interlock with no location restrictions.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
Will not allow you to start your car with alcohol in your system
Requires random retests of your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) during trips to prevent tampering and ensure continuous sobriety.
How long is an KS interlock device required?
The amount of time an IID is required is typically determined by statute. In Kansas, it can range from 6 months to 10 years.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Kansas
Kansas approves the ADS Determinator II device. This device is easy-to-use and features bilingual prompts.
Ignition Interlock installation in Kansas
Thanks to the ADS partner network, there are many locations in Kansas to visit for installation purposes. You should have no trouble finding a location near you. Remember that you will have to return every 30 days for calibration, so keep that in mind when choosing your service center location.