The state of Maine refers to alcohol-based driving offenses as Operating Under the Influence, or OUI. In Maine, the legal BAC limit is below .08 percent. Anyone caught driving with a BAC of .08 percent or more is at risk of an OUI conviction. The state suspends the license of any driver caught with a BAC of .08 percent or more immediately. This means that prior to court appearance, offenders won’t be able to drive. In some cases, restricted driving privileges may be restored if the offender installs an ignition interlock device.
Anyone in Maine caught with a BAC limit of .08 percent and over is considered guilty of OUI. Their license is suspended, but in some cases, they can get driving privileges restored if they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. First, second, and third-time offenders are given license suspensions of various lengths and are required to install an ignition interlock device to restore driving privileges. Before they’re eligible for a restricted license, offenders must serve part of their suspension period.
If there are aggravating factors, penalties increase. Aggravating factors include having a minor in the car at the time of offense, causing injury, death, or property damage, and being more than twice the legal limit.
Maine has financial and administrative penalties for OUI offenses, and they include jail time, community service, financial penalties, license suspension, and potential IID requirements too.
In addition to these penalties, the court may order community service, treatment, or increase penalty time depending on the specifics of the case.
Refusing to take a blood alcohol content test or breathalyzer will not protect you from any penalties, and may increase them. If you are stopped and refuse the testing, these are the penalties:
Drivers are responsible for the cost of their ignition interlock device. Devices are leased, not purchased outright.
The price can vary depending on your monitoring needs and the device that is approved in your state. Typically, they cost between $2 and $3 a day.
Maine allows offenders to regain driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. The state also requires individuals to serve a specific portion of their suspension before they are eligible for the restricted license.
If there are other criteria, the court should clarify what other tasks you need to complete.
The ignition interlock device program allows drivers to get back on the road, which is essential for many to get to work, school, and other necessary appointments. Maine requires drivers to use one of their approved providers, to ensure the device meets state criteria.
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
In Maine, the suspension period is determined by statute, and the IID may be required for up to one year after the suspension period ends.
Maine approves the ADS Determinator II device.
Maine has many ignition interlock device installation locations, and ADS has more than any other provider thanks to our partner network. Find an installation location near you. When you go for your installation appointment, a technician will show you how the device works. You will need to return 30 days after installation for device calibration, and every 60 days after that.