Nevada is home to a vast desert, exciting nightlife, and much more. Nevada is also home to a stringent set of penalties for DUI and alcohol-based driving offenses. The penalties increase with each repeat offense and may be higher depending on the circumstances of the offense.
First offenders risk having their vehicle impounded, two days in jail, possible DUI school and treatment, and license revocation for a year. Penalties also include a $1,000 fine, making a DUI quite costly indeed for Nevada offenders. In some cases, if a DUI offender installs an ignition interlock device from a provider Nevada approves, they may be able to get a restricted license that allows them to drive to work, home, and other necessary locations. This guide will take you through the process of getting an ADS ignition interlock installed.
Nevada has a variety of penalties for DUI offenders, and they include both financial and administrative penalties. They also increase depending on if the offender has been convicted of DUI previously, and other factors. For example, penalties increase if the offender causes property damage or injures another person during the driving incident.
Nevada has administrative and financial penalties for all DUI offenders. They also recently updated their ignition interlock policy in June 2021, so make sure you are up to date if your arrest and conviction took place after June 4, 2021.
Offenders cannot bypass consequences if they refuse the test. Anyone who refuses to complete a test risks a license suspension of up to three years, depending on if you have past Nevada DUI offenses. It is also important to remember that while ignition interlocks are highly recommended and required in many cases, a judge in Nevada is not required to sentence an offender to an IID.
Offenders are responsible for the cost of renting or leasing their device, but Nevada does offer financial assistance to qualified offenders. Anyone with an income of 150 percent or below the federal poverty line or who receives supplemental nutritional assistance is eligible.
The device costs between $2.50 and $3.50 a day, which can be paid monthly.
Nevada’s ignition interlock policy requires the judge to review the number of prior offenses and take that into account when sentencing. Some offenders may qualify for a restricted license if they meet the following criteria:
Some offenders may not be eligible for an IID license or to regain their driving privileges, depending on the offense, previous offenses, and other criteria at the discretion of the court.
An ignition interlock device is installed in an offender’s vehicle to prevent drunk driving. ADS is an approved provider in Nevada, and has more locations in our partner network than any other IID provider. The devices also include bilingual prompts, and a simple user interface.
Ignition interlock, devices, or IIDs, are portable breathalyzers installed inside your vehicle and:
This is determined by statute. In Nevada, the new ignition interlock laws state the following sentencing times:
ADS is an approved provider in Nevada, meaning our devices comply with all state criteria. ADS has a large partner network, making it easy to find a location near you. The Determinator II device is approved in Nevada. This easy-to-use device also features bilingual prompts.
There are many ADS locations in Nevada, so you should be able to find one near you. We have over 4,000 locations and a state specialist can help you select the most convenient location for you.