The state of New Jersey refers to alcohol-based driving offenses as Operating Under the Influence, or OUI. In New Jersey, the legal BAC limit is below .08 percent. Anyone caught driving with a BAC of .08 percent or more is at risk of an OUI conviction. The state suspends the license of any driver caught with a BAC of .08 percent or more immediately. This means that prior to court appearance, offenders won’t be able to drive. In some cases, restricted driving privileges may be restored if the offender installs an ignition interlock device.
New Jersey has significant penalties for alcohol-based driving offenses. Those convicted of DWI will be penalized financially and they’re required to install a BAIID. The penalties increase with each offense.
Refusing to take the test doesn’t mean offenders will not be penalized. A refusal will incur the following penalties:
The device cost is covered by the offender, although New Jersey has financial assistance programs available for anyone considered indigent.
The price of the device is typically about $2.50 to $3.50 a day.
New Jersey allows some drivers to get a restricted license to regain some of their driving privileges during the suspension period. Typically, these licenses allow offenders to drive to work, school, medical appointments, treatment, and other necessary appointments. To qualify, offenders must meet the following criteria:
The court will share any other requirements with offenders if they are necessary to get the BAIID.
The breath alcohol ignition interlock program allows New Jersey offenders to get back on the road during their suspension period. This is beneficial because it allows them to go to work, school, medical appointments, and other necessary places.
A breath alcohol ignition interlock device, or BAIID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
The ignition interlock device is required typically for the length of the time the license is revoked or suspended, and perhaps beyond. The exact length of time is typically determined in court.
New Jersey approves the ADS Determinator device, a simple device that features bilingual prompts and an easy-to-read digital display.
The ADS partner network features nearly 4,000 locations nationwide, so you should have no problem finding one near you. You will need to return every 60 days for calibration. Keep that in mind when choosing a location so it’s convenient to return to regularly.