In the state of Rhode Island, driving while intoxicated (DWI), is defined as a blood alcohol content of equal or more than .08 percent. Driving while under the influence of alcohol, prescription drugs, or other drugs is also considered DWI. This includes controlled substances like marijuana. For commercial drivers, the legal BAC limit is .04 percent, and drivers found driving their commercial vehicle with that BAC limit are considered to be driving while intoxicated.
Even first offenders will receive a license suspension, although Rhode Island does grant hardship licenses to those who qualify and agree to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
Rhode Island grants qualified offenders a hardship license if they install an ignition interlock device from a state-approved provider like ADS. The hardship license allows offenders to drive to approved locations like work, school, medical appointments, treatment and other necessary appointments.
Rhode Island has increasing penalties depending on the offense. There are financial and administrative penalties for each offense level, and ignition interlock devices are required from first offense onward if offenders want to regain driving privileges during their suspension period.
Offenders who have a BAC of .15 percent receive harsher, increased penalties. They include: one to five years in jail, fines of $500 to $5,000, and a license suspension of three months to three years.
In addition to penalties, the court may order community service, treatment, or increase penalty time for any offender depending on the specifics of the case.
The cost for the ignition interlock device is covered by the offender. The devices are leased, not purchased outright.
Prices vary depending on monitoring needs and which device is required. Currently, an ADS interlock device would cost between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
In Rhode Island, offenders must serve a minimum period of their full suspension before they are eligible for a hardship license. Typically, the suspension period they must serve lasts 30-60 days. Following that, they must install an ignition interlock device in order to be granted the hardship license. They must also complete the following:
Proof of installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (Installation Certificate). Court Order from the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal with requirements for hardship license, including the authorized hours of operation (Court Order) Payment of $100.00 Ignition Interlock fee to be paid at the Adjudication Office of the DMV Payment of $27.50 to update license to add hardship restriction
Sometimes the court may hand down other criteria, but this is the general criteria that applies to every driver.
A hardship license requires an ignition interlock device, which must be installed by an approved provider. ADS and our partner network are approved in Rhode Island, so you know you will be in compliance with state regulations.
Ignition interlocks are small devices installed inside your vehicle that:
This depends on the number of offenses on the driver’s record as well as if there were aggravated factors to the DWI offense. In general, the devices are required for suspension period and potentially some time after the suspension period ends. These are the IID requirements in Rhode Island:
Rhode Island approves the ADS Determinator I and Determinator II devices. Both feature bilingual prompts, and an easy-to-read display.
Thanks to the ADS partner network, we have more installation locations than any other provider in Rhode Island. Find an installation location near you. The certified technician will install your device and also give you an overview of how it works before you leave.