Utah is the only state with a legal blood alcohol content (legal BAC) of .05 percent. All other states currently have a threshold of .08 percent. Utah is stricter, and a BAC at or above .05 percent can result in a DUI conviction. There are also strict penalties in place for offenders, including license suspension. Some offenders may be able to regain driving privileges during the suspension period by installing an ignition interlock device. This guide will explain the interlock policy in Utah.
It’s not surprising that Utah takes drunk driving very seriously. The state has the lowest legal BAC limit in the United States at .05 percent, and strict penalties for DUI offenders as well. The penalties increase if there are prior offenses on record. This guide will explain the penalties and interlock policy in the state of Utah.
These interlock terms can be lengthened, or an interlock can be mandated, at the judge’s discretion. There also may be additional penalties given to offenders if there was a serious injury, damage, or death resulting from their drunk driving.
Offenders who refuse a BAC test will still be penalized. The penalties include license suspension of up to 18 months for first offenders. Repeat offenders can have their license suspended for three years. Anyone under 21 is facing an 18-month license suspension, or a license suspension until they turn 21.
Eligible offenders in Utah can obtain a limited license during their suspension period if they meet certain criteria. These criteria include:
Offenders may need to meet additional criteria depending on the circumstances of the incident.
Ignition interlock devices are small electronic devices installed in a vehicle to prevent drunk driving. They are sometimes called car breathalyzers. This is how they work:
Utah has a compliance-based interlock policy. While the interlock term is determined by statute, it can be increased if the offender violates the policy. Violations include tampering with the device, driving without a device, or failing a test.
Utah requires offenders to cover the cost of their own device. The devices cost between $70 and $120 to install, and offenders also pay for the lease. To lease, devices typically cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. ADS offers flexible payment options.
ADS has a large partner network, with more than 4,500 locations across the US. You should be able to find one you can easily get to. Keep in mind you will be returning for calibration when selecting your service center. At your installation appointment, the technician will install your device and show you how it works. They will also give you a proof of installation certificate. You may need this to get your limited license.