alcohol detection systems, ads interlock, ignition interlock device, ignition interlock, dui device, car breathalyzerAlcohol Detection Systems (ADS) is the leading ignition interlock company in the United States, helping drivers get back on the road after a DUI quickly and efficiently.
Vermont has strict penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Vermont is .08 percent. This means that any driver with a BAC at or above that amount risks being convicted of DUI. There are financial and administrative penalties for DUI in Vermont, and offenders risk fines and license suspension if they are caught.
State Interlock Regulations
Alcohol Detection System - Help is here
Let us get you back on the road quickly and without hassie. Just fill in your information and an ADS advisor will contact you.
By clicking the button above, you consent to ADS and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Vermont allows qualified drivers who have installed an ignition interlock to regain driving privileges. This allows those offenders to get back on the road during their license suspension period.
What happens if I get a DUI in Vermont?
The penalties for DUI in Vermont do increase depending on how many times the driver has offended in the past, and if there is a very high BAC level, injuries, or damages.
90 days license suspension, one year if there is injury or death involved
Up to two years in jail
Up to $750 in fines
Must install an IID to regain driving privileges
60 hours minimum in jail, up to two years or 200 hours of community service
Up to $1,500 fine
18-month license suspension
Must install IID to regain driving privileges, but court can order vehicle immobilized for full suspension period
96 hours minimum in jail, up to five years maximum
Up to $2,500 fine
License suspended for life
Can regain driving privileges with an IID, but cour can order vehicle immobilized for full suspension period.
Must wait at least one year of suspension period before applying
Refusing a breathalyzer will not eliminate the consequences. Those who refuse a BAC test will have their license suspended for six months on a first offense.
Ignition Interlock Cost in Vermont
Vermont offenders are required to cover the cost of their ignition interlock device. The devices cost several thousand dollars, but leasing allows offenders to merely pay a small portion of the total cost. There is financial assistance available for any offenders who receive benefits via: 3SquaresVT, LIHEAP, Reach Up, or state benefits in another state.
How much does an IID cost?
The price of the device is typically between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
How do I regain driving privileges in Vermont?
In Vermont, some offenders who install an ignition interlock device may be able to regain driving privileges. In order to do so, offenders need to:
Pay fines and satisfy any court requirements
Show proof of SR-22 insurance in their name
Install an IID from a trusted provider
Complete any alcohol education courses required
Pay necessary application or reinstatement fees
Wait the required amount of their suspension period
If a driver had an excessively high BAC, caused property damage, injury, or death, they may not qualify for regaining driving privileges, even with an IID.
ADS VT Interlock Devices
Any required interlock device has to be installed by a state-approved provider. ADS and our partner network are approved in Vermont, so you know you will be in compliance with state regulations.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlocks are small devices installed inside your vehicle that:
Won’t let you start your vehicle if you have alcohol in your system
Randomly requests retests of your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) while you’re driving to prevent device tampering and drunk driving
How long is an VT interlock device required?
The length of time is determined by statute, but may increase depending on the circumstances of the offense or other incidents.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Vermont
Vermont approves the ADS Determinator II device, which features bilingual prompts. The operating system is simple enough, and technicians will explain how it works at your installation appointment.
Ignition Interlock installation in Vermont
There are more than 4,000 locations for ADS installation. Our vast partner network makes it easy for offenders to find a nearby installation location. You will need to return to the location frequently for calibration, so keep that in mind when choosing where to go.