Connecticut State Laws and IID Requirements
An OUI conviction is a serious offense in Connecticut. Anyone caught operating a vehicle under the influence risks serious penalties. In order to regain driving privileges, offenders may be required to install an ignition interlock device. This guide will help you learn everything you need to know about the rules and regulations around IIDs in Connecticut.
What are the Penalties for OUI in Connecticut?
- License suspended for 45 days
- Must install an IID for one year after suspension, or for a duration required under Administrative Per Se law. The longer suspension length will prevail.
- License suspended for 45 days
- Required to install an interlock device for three years
- For first year of IID, drivers are limited to driving to and from work, ignition interlock service center, probation appointments, treatment, and school
- Driver’s License is permanently revoked
- After three years, can have a hearing to reconsider license revocation
What are the Penalties for Failure to Complete or Refuse to Submit to an OUI Test in Connecticut?
First Test Refusal
- An IID is required for one year
Second Test Refusal (within 10 years)
- An IID is required for two years
Third Test Refusal (within 10 years)
- An IID is required for three years
Get a Free Quote! Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
How Can I Regain Driving Privileges in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, qualified offenders may be eligible for a special operator’s license. This license allows them to drive to certain locations like work and school. In some cases, the offender may be required to install an ignition interlock device. However, not all special operator’s license holders are required to have an interlock. This is because the license is used for other types of offenders, not just drunk drivers. See if you qualify by checking criteria below.
- Cannot be suspended for a failure to pay or a failure to appear
- Ineligible if license is suspended for driving on a suspended license
- Cannot have any other OUI or alcohol-based driving offenses on record
- If there are three or more prior moving violations on the driver’s record, they are unable to qualify
- If your current suspension is for reckless driving or evading responsibility, you won’t qualify if there are more than two other previous moving violations on record
- No vehicular manslaughter or assault charges
- Required to fill out required forms and pay any outstanding fines
- If required, must install an ignition interlock device CT approves
Eligible drivers may be able to have their driver's license restored after the suspension period ends.
ADS Interlock Devices in Connecticut
There are several penalties that require ignition interlock devices in Connecticut, and it is required for many OUI offenders in order to get their Special Operator’s permit.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock devices, or IIDs, are small devices installed in your vehicle that:
- Will now allow you to start your car if you were drinking/do not pass the BrAC test
- Throughout each trip, the device will require you to test your BrAC at random times to ensure continuous sobriety.
How Long is a CT Interlock Device Required?
The length of the time the devices are required is determined by statute and the court. More time may be added depending on specific circumstances.
The Cost of Interlock Devices in Connecticut
Ignition interlock devices are leased by the offender, not purchased outright. Typically the cost to rent an ADS interlock device is between $2.50 and $3.50 per day, and ADS offers flexible payment options.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.