Skip to Content

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL (888) 205-1839 call center rep

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to one or more of the listed businessesIntoxalock, Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC, DUI.org, DUICare calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL (888) 205-1839
      Two people writing on legal documents

      Indiana State Laws and IID Requirements

      Indiana uses OWI, operating while intoxicated, as the legal term for drunk driving offenses. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08 percent. Drivers found at or above this limit while driving risk a variety of penalties. The penalties include license suspension, though some offenders can regain driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device and meet other criteria.

      What are the Penalties for an OWI in Indiana?

      All offenders in Indiana will have their license suspended for some time. There are several accomplaying penalties.

      First Offense

      • Possible 60-day jail sentence, up to one year if BAC > .15 percent
      • $500 in fines, can increase up to to $5000 if BAC > .15 percent
      • 180-day license suspension
      • Required to install interlock for at least 60 days, longer if BAC > .15 percent

      Second Offense

      • Possible 60-day jail sentence, up to one year if BAC > .15 percent
      • $500 in fines, can increase up to to $5000 if BAC > .15 percent
      • One-year license suspension
      • Required to install interlock for at least 60 days, longer if BAC > .15 percent

      Third Offense

      • Possible 60-day jail sentence, up to one year if BAC > .15 percent
      • $500 in fines, can increase up to to $5000 if BAC > .15 percent
      • One-year license suspension, may be extended
      • Required to install interlock for at least 60 days, longer if BAC > .15 percent

      What Happens if I Fail to Complete or Refuse to Submit to a OWI Test in Indiana?

      There are still consequences for drivers who refuse to take a BAC test. If the driver has a previous OWI conviction, they will have their license suspended for one year. If there is a prior offense on record, the suspension period can extend to two years.

      Get a Free Quote! Call (888) 205-1839

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to one or more of the listed businessesIntoxalock, Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC, DUI.org, DUICare calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      How Can I Regain Driving Privileges in Indiana?

      Some offenders in Indiana are able to get their driving privileges back during the suspension period. They have to meet a variety of criteria, which includes:

      • Check with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to ensure you are eligible
      • Install an interlock device and show proof that it has been installed
      • Make sure all fines are paid and required fees given to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
      • Attend any required treatment or probation programs
      • Fulfill community service obligations

      There could be additional criteria, depending on the circumstances of the event.



      ADS Interlock Devices in IN

      ADS devices are easy-to-use and feature bilingual prompts.

      What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

      Interlock devices are a tool that prevents drunk driving and keeps drivers from re-offending.

      • Drivers need to take a breath alcohol content test and pass before they can start the car
      • The device will request random retests during most trips

      How Long is an IN Interlock Device Required?

      The interlock period of time is determined by the statute. The interlock requirement may change, depending on violations or if there are previous incidents on file.




      The Cost of Interlock Devices in IN

      Offenders are responsible for covering the cost of their device, including installation and the monthly lease. The installation cost is usually between $70-$100 and monthly lease fees total between $80 and $120, or $2.50 to $3.50 per day. ADS offers flexible payment options.

      Find an Installation Location Near You
      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 

      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.