Oklahoma State Laws and IID Requirements
Oklahoma has multiple penalties for driving under the influence (DUI). Drivers who are found with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher are considered legally intoxicated. While the legal BAC limit in Oklahoma is .08 percent, some drivers with a BAC over .05 percent may be arrested for DWI, a lesser offense. Anyone convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma risks heavy penalties. They include jail time, financial penalties, and license revocation. In order to regain their driving privileges, offenders may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) from an approved provider. Refusing to take a test can also result in license revocation.
What Happens if I Get a DUI in Oklahoma?
First DUI Offense
- 10 days to one year of jail time
- Fines up to $1,000
- 180 days license revocation
- May have to install an IID
Second DUI Offense
- One to five years of jail time
- Fines up to $2,500
- One-year license revocation (longer if first offense occurred less than 10 years prior)
- Required to install an IID
Third DUI Offense
- 240 hours of community service
- One year minimum jail time, up to 10 years
- Fines up to $5,000
- Three-year license revocation
- Required to install an IID
Get a Free Quote! Call (888)-205-1862
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
What Happens if I Fail or Refuse to Take a Test in Oklahoma?
A refusal to take the test is not a means of avoiding consequences. Offenders who refuse to take a test may have their license revoked for 180 days to three years.
How Do I Get a Restricted Driver’s License in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, some offenders can regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. The restricted license will only allow them to drive vehicles with an IID installed. To get a restricted license, offenders should:
- Serve the mandatory suspension or revocation period
- Pay all fines
- Serve all jail time or community service
- Install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider
- Pay $50 license reinstatement fee
The monitoring authority will typically require a certificate of installation to grant the license.
OK Interlock Devices
Ignition interlock devices allow Oklahoma drivers to get back on the road. They will be able to drive to work, school, medical appointments, and other necessary locations.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
- Requires you to submit and pass a breath test before starting the car
- Requests random retests of your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) during trips to prevent tampering and ensure continuous sobriety.
How Long is an OK Interlock Device Required?
The exact length of time an ignition interlock device is needed depends on the offense, any aggravating factors, and the court.
Ignition Interlock Cost in Oklahoma
Offenders are responsible for the cost of the ignition interlock installation and services. ADS does not sell devices outright, because each unit can cost thousands. Instead, customers lease the devices for the duration of their license suspension or revocation.
How Much Does an IID Cost?
The price may vary depending on what device the court requires, but typically ignition interlocks cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Ignition Interlock installation in Oklahoma
There are many options to install an ignition interlock device in Oklahoma. ADS partners with Intoxalock to offer devices and installation. With approximately 60 locations in Oklahoma, Intoxalock can help you find a location near you.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.