Tennessee State Laws and IID Requirements
There are strict DUI penalties in Tennessee for convicted drivers who commit alcohol-related driving offenses. First-time offenders with a blood alcohol content over the legal BAC limit of .08 percent risk 48 hours to 11 months in jail, and will have their license revoked for up to a year. Those with a BAC of more than .20 percent are given a minimum jail sentence of 7 consecutive days. In addition to these penalties, drivers are also fined up to $1,500. Some drivers may be eligible for a restricted license if they install an ignition interlock device (IID).
What Happens if I Get a DUI in Tennessee?
First DUI Offense
- License revoked up to one year
- 48 hours to 11 months in jail (7 days for BAC > .20 percent)
- Up to $1,500 in fines
- Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
- Must install an IID to regain driving privileges if they meet offense criteria noted above
- If they are required to install an IID, they must provide a certificate of installation or otherwise prove installation within 10 days of being released on bail
- Non-residents and offenders who are unable to take a BrAC sample for health reasons can apply for a waiver. If a non-resident moves to TN during their interlock term, they will have to comply with the law and install an IID.
Second DUI Offense
- 45 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
- Up to $3,500 fine
- License revoked for two years
- Must install IID to regain driving privileges
- The IID must be in use for 365 days or the entire license revocation period, whichever is longer. If all requirements are followed for license reinstatement, there will be no additional interlock term. If they aren’t and there is a second offense within 5 years, an IID is required for six months after the license is reinstated. Note: The term must be served, and cannot be waited out.
Third DUI Offense
- 120 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
- Up to $10,000 fine
- License suspended for 6 years
- Can regain driving privileges with an IID, which will be required for 6 months after reinstatement if driver was convicted twice in 5 years
There are also consequences for those drivers who refuse a breath alcohol content test, or breathalyzer.
- First offense - driver’s license revoked for 1 year
- Second offense - driver’s license revoked for 2 years
- Caused injury - if a crash causes bodily injury, the license is revoked for two years
- Caused death - if the crash resulted in a fatality, the license is revoked for five years
Get a Free Quote! Call 888-786-7384
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Tennessee?
Offenders in Tennessee who meet criteria are eligible to get a restricted license if they install an ignition interlock device. This allows them to drive during the suspension period. Offenders have to meet the following criteria:
Offenders May Qualify if They Meet All These Criteria, Which Include:
- Get a certified order from the court where they were convicted, or a court in their county of residence, signed by the judge
- Obtain an SR-22 showing you have liability insurance coverage
- Pay the $65 license fee and $2 application fee
- Take the certified Court Order and a copy to a Driver Services Center within 10 days of the order, along with any other required documentation
- Install an IID and present papers at the Driver Services Center
- If granted, the Restricted License limits drivers to only driving to and from work, probation meetings, school, alcohol safety programs, medical treatments, and religious services
Depending on the circumstances of the incident, the offender may not qualify for regaining driving privileges, even with an IID.
ADS TN Interlock Devices
Ignition interlock devices are regulated, and offenders must have their device installed by a provider approved in your state. The court or an offender’s attorney should provide them with a list of approved devices. The ADS Determinator II device is approved in Tennessee.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock, devices, or IIDs, are portable breathalyzers installed inside your vehicle and:
- Don’t allow you to start your vehicle if you have alcohol in your system
- Requests random retests of your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) while you’re driving to prevent device tampering and drunk driving
How Long is a TN Interlock Device Required?
The length of time an offender must have an IID is determined by statute. However, the length of time may change depending on specifics of the alcohol-related driving incident or other offender information.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Tennessee
Tennessee approves the ADS Determinator II device, which features bilingual prompts. The operating system is simple to use, and the installation technician will go over how it is used at the installation appointment.
Ignition Interlock Cost in Tennessee
Convicted offenders are responsible for the cost of the ignition interlock device. The devices are rented, not purchased outright, because they cost several thousand dollars. Tennessee does offer financial assistance to qualified offenders via the Tennessee DUI Monitoring Fund.
How Much Does an ITN Cost?
The price of the device averages out to roughly $2.50 to $3.50 per day.
Ignition Interlock installation in Tennessee
ADS makes it easy to find a location. Thanks to our massive partner network, we have more than 5,000 installation locations. This makes it simple to visit a location that’s convenient.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.